About Us

The Michigan Chapter of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists is the newest of 19 Chapters within a national society that is comprised of over 4,000 members. The Society was founded in 1945 to promote high standards of practice in the cosmetic sciences and to provide the proper forums for the exchange of ideas and new developments in cosmetic research and technology. 


Dedicated to the advancement of cosmetic science, the Society strives to increase and disseminate scientific information through meetings and publications. By promoting research in cosmetic science and industry, and by setting high ethical, professional and educational standards, we reach our goal of improving the qualifications of cosmetic scientists. Our mission is to further the interests and recognition of cosmetic scientists while maintaining the confidence of the public in the cosmetic and toiletries industry.


The chapter conducts quarterly meetings around the great state of Michigan, each featuring industry speakers presenting the lastest innovations and topics within the cosmetic industry. In addition, the chapter also host a biennial 1-day scientific symposium on the llatest topics impacting the global cosmetics industry.  

SCC MI Board Members

Debbie Pinardo (Chair), Paige Krzyskowski (Chair-elect), Jason Vogel (Past Chair), Bart Maxon (2016 Area II Director)

Executive Board 

Position Name Email Affiliation
Chair Debbie Pinardo Amway
Chair-elect Paige Krzyskowski Dow Corning
Secretary Bethany Prime Dow Corning
Treasurer Karen Patin Amway
Treasurer-elect Tori Wing Amway
Past Chair Jason Vogel Dow Corning

Committee Volunteers

Committee Name Email Affiliation
Records & Election Committee Beth Johnson Dow Corning
Newsletter & Publicity
Mike Starch* (Editor) Wintermute Consulting Service
Yulia Park (Proofreader) Amway
Jenny Lee (Facebook) Amway
Caryn Weiss (Website) Amway
Jim Mayne (Photography) Amway
Haywood Ware (Regulatory) Amway
Ann Smejkal Genemarkers
Program Committee Rong Kong* Amway
Jat Rana Amway
John Scimeca Amway
Evan Waddell Dow Corning
Symposium Committee Kausar Malik* Amway
Caryn Weiss* Amway
Aimee Herbel Amway
John Scimeca Amway
Jat Rana Amway
Lane Duvel Amway
House Committee Evan Waddell* (East Side) Dow Corning
Robin Thacker* (West Side) Amway
Aimee Herbel Amway
Jason Vogel Dow Corning
Outreach Committee Bart Maxon* Dow Corning
Jason Vogel Dow Corning
Evan Waddell Dow Corning
Karen Patin Amway
Toni Wing Amway
Caryn Weiss Amway
Sponsorship & Social Event Committee Lane Duvel* Amway
Louise Schneider Amway


*Denotes Committee Chair

Print Print | Sitemap
© Society of Cosmetic Chemists Michigan Chapter - 1&1 MyWebsite